Breaking News

Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad Return As PCB Announced The Squad For Sri Lanka T20Is

[su_dropcap style=”simple” size=”5″]P[/su_dropcap]akistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced the squad for Sri Lanka T20Is. Opening batsman Ahmed Shehzad and Middle-order batsman Umar Akmal made a comeback to the side after almost two years.

Pakistan Announced Squad For Sri Lanka T20Is:

Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad Return As PCB Announced The Squad For Sri Lanka T20Is
Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad Return As PCB Announced The Squad For Sri Lanka T20Is
Picture Courtesy © PCB

The senior duo of Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez was not included in ODI and T20I squad. Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar, Mohammad Nawaz, Ahmed Shehzad, and Umar Akmal were the surprising picks for Sri Lanka T20Is.

Pakistan’s Full Schedule For ICC T20 World Cup 2020

Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad were thrown out of the team due to disciplinary issues in Mickey Arthur and Inzamam Ul Haq’s era. Misbah Ul Haq, interestingly, selected both the players in the very first assignment he got as head coach and Chief selector.
Coming back to cricket, after hosting Sri Lanka successfully in Karachi for the ODI series, now Pakistan is ready to host them in Lahore for three T20Is.

Pakistan clinched the ODI series by 2-0. Babar Azam was declared man of the series for his stellar performance in the 1st ODI.

The T20I series will consist of three matches. The first match will be played on October 5 at the Gaddafi Stadium Lahore. The remaining two fixtures will be held on October 7 and 9 respectively at the Gaddafi Stadium Lahore.

Pakistan, who is currently ranked at No.1 in T20Is will look to strengthen their position. On the other hand, Sri Lanka will be playing without the services of their regular T20I captain Lasith Malinga. The premium fast-bowler refused to travel to Pakistan with the Sri Lankan squad due to security concerns.

Dasun Shanaka will lead this young Sri Lanka side. The way these guys showed fight and character against the strong Pakistani lineup in ODIs was terrific to watch. Dasun Shanaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Danushka Gunathilaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, and Lahiru Kumara were the stand out performers for the visitors in the ODI series.

The T20I series, on the back of ODI series, promises to be a thriller between the world’s best T20I side and emerging but energetic Sri Lanka.


Related Articles

Back to top button