Breaking News

Shoaib Malik Joins 9,000 T20-Run Elite Club

[su_dropcap style=”simple” size=”5″]S[/su_dropcap]hoaib Malik, the seasoned campaigner, has joined the 9,000 T20-run elite club. He became the fourth overall and first Pakistani cricketer to achieve this feat.

On Sunday, Shoaib Malik achieved this milestone while leading Guyana Amazon Warriors’ (GAW) against Barbados Tridents (BT) in the ongoing Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

Malik played a magnificent little cameo. He scored 32 runs off just 19 balls in his team’s 30-run victory.

Malik’s Guyana Amazon Warriors (GAW) have entered the final of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) with 11 consecutive wins.

The former Pakistani captain has played 356 T20 matches so far. He has scored 9014 runs and also taken 142 scalps in this format of the game.

The other three batsmen who have achieved this milestone in T20 cricket are Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum, and Kieron Pollard.

Top Four Run Scorers In T20 Cricket

Chris Gayle is leading the chart with 13,051 runs in 394 T20 matches. The West Indian opener is followed by former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum, who has scored 9,922 in 370 games. Kieron Pollard, with 9,757 runs in 489 matches, is placed in the third position. Shoaib Malik has occupied the fourth position with 9014 runs in 356 T20 games.

BCB To Finalize Pakistan Tour Within Two Weeks

The stylish Pakistani all-rounder has played franchise cricket all around the world. He has represented the following teams:

  1. Pakistan
  2. Asia XI
  3. Barbados Tridents
  4. Delhi Daredevils
  5. Gloucestershire
  6. Gujranwala Cricket Association
  7. Guyana Amazon Warriors
  8. Hobart Hurricanes
  9. ICC World XI
  10. Karachi Kings
  11. Multan Sultans
  12. Pakistan International Airlines
  13. Pakistan Reserves
  14. Sialkot Cricket Association
  15. Sialkot Stallions
  16. Vancouver Knights

(Courtesy ESPN Cricinfo)

Shoaib Malik, who retired from ODI cricket after ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, is hopeful of making a T20 come back to the national side. Malik was not included in the list of Pakistani players who got central contracts by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) for 2019-20. He, along with Mohammad Hafeez, was not considered for Pakistan’s ongoing T20I series against Sri Lanka in Lahore.


Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: