BlogBreaking News

PCB Unveiled New Structure For Domestic Cricket In Pakistan

Lahore 31 August 2019: Pakistan Cricket Board unveiled new structure for domestic cricket in Pakistan.
New Structure for Pakistan Domestic Cricket Unveiled by PCB
New Structure for Pakistan Domestic Cricket Unveiled by PCB
Photo Courtesy © PCB

Opportunity For The Best Talent To Play And shine

The new domestic structure by PCB provides an excellent opportunity to the young talent to play and shine. The city cricket associations are a perfect step by PCB to find the talent from the local and backward areas. It will be made sure that cricket is played in school and colleges regularly. The city cricket associations will supervise the tournaments held in schools and colleges. 

The 16 Regions Absorbed Into 6 Associations

PCB has absorbed the 16 regional teams to 6 associations. The new associations, according to Pakistan Cricket Board’s official website, are as follow: 
  • Sindh Cricket Association includes Karachi, Hyderabad and Larkana 
  • Balochistan Cricket Association includes Dera Murad Jamali and Quetta 
  • Southern Punjab Cricket Association includes Multan and Bahawalpur 
  • Central Punjab Cricket Association includes Faisalabad, Lahore and Sialkot 
  • Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Cricket Association includes Peshawar, FATA and Abbottabad
  • Northern Cricket Association includes Islamabad, Rawalpindi and Azad-Jammu And Kashmir

The Main Changes To Pakistan Domestic Cricket Announced By PCB

The main changes made by Pakistan Cricket Board in domestic cricket, according to Pakistan Cricket Board’s official website, are as follow:
  • The focus has been on quality instead of quantity; incentivising high-performing  players and creating coaches and administration employment opportunities for the former cricketers
  • To improve playing facilities, the PCB is committed to spending over PKR 2 billion for upgrading the stadiums in Karachi, Lahore, Rawalpindi, Quetta and Multan
  • The curators across each of the selected first-class grounds are undergoing continuous improvements
  • Dukes Balls will be used instead of Kookaburra at the first-class level to compete with international level

The Revised 3-Tier Structure For Domestic Cricket In Pakistan 

The three-layered structure, according to Pakistan Cricket Board’s official website, will function as follows:
  • In the first tier, the 90 city cricket associations will be responsible for organising the club and school cricket in their respective areas
  • In the second tier, the city cricket teams will participate in intra-city competition within  the jurisdiction of their cricket association 
  • In the third tier, the best performing players from the intra-city competitions will form the six respective cricket association sides that will participate in PCB-organized tournaments

Domestic Tournaments Dates Announced By PCB In Advance

PCB has taken an excellent step to announce the domestic tournaments dates in advance.
The dates are as follow: 
  • Quaid-E-Azam Trophy (first-class, four-days matches, final will be a five days fixture): September 14- October 8, October 28- December 13
  • National U19 tournament (three-day and one-day tournament): October 1- November 12
  • Quaid-E-Azam Trophy (2nd XI, three-day matches, final will be a four-day fixture): 
  • National T20 Cup (both first and second XIs will play simultaneously): October 13-24, first XIs will play in Karachi and second XIs will play in Faisalabad 
  • Pakistan one-day Tournament (both first XIs and second XIs will play simultaneously): March 29- April 24, 2020
All the information regarding “new structure in Pakistan domestic cricket by PCB” was collected by Pakistan Cricket Board’s official Website. The credit of the this information is due to Pakistan Cricket Board’s official website.

    Related Articles

    Back to top button