Breaking News

Pakistan announce squad for Women’s T20 World Cup; Sana Mir dropped

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced 15-member women’s squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup. Senior all-rounder Sana Mir was left out due to below-par performances in the past.

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to take place in Australia from February 22 to March 8.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) selection committee included Ayesha Naseem in the squad while Muneeba Ali and Aiman Anwar were recalled.

ALSO READ: PCB invite 19 probable players to camp for Bangladesh Tests

Ayesha Zafar, Nahida Khan, and Rameen Shamim, who were the part of Pakistan squad in the T20I series against England in Kuala Lumpur, have been left out.

Urooj Mumtaz, the chair of the national women’s selection committee, said, “Jotting down the squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup was a tough task as many players had staked a claim in the side.”

She encouraged the players who failed to make it into the World Cup squad.

Urooj said, “Though the players who have been left out will be disappointed and heart-broken, this, however, should act as a motivation for them to come back more strongly.”

She added, “On the other side of the coin, the selection of 15-year-old Ayesha and 16-year-old Aroob Shah should be a motivation and message for all the budding youngsters.”

The chair of the selection committee explained the criteria used to select the squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020.

She said, “Furthermore, the selectors have also valued our domestic competition, while also taking into consideration the players who have been regularly part of the side since the Bangladesh series.”

Urooj continued, “The team has been selected keeping in mind the current form and performances along with the conditions in Australia and, at the same moment, we have come up with the right balance of youth and experience which will complement each other in the mega event.”

Urooj Mumtaz justified the exclusion of the senior all-rounder Sana Mir from the squad.

She said, “Though Sana Mir doesn’t feature in the 15-player line-up, I believe we still have the desired experience in the squad. Sana has been a phenomenal servant of Pakistan cricket while being an inspiration to many girls out there. Unfortunately, her recent performances in the T20 format were not on her side.”

Pakistan are placed with England, South Africa, Thailand, and the West Indies in Group B.

The Bismah Maroof-led unit side will start their ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 journey on 26 February against the West Indies Women.

The Pakistan team will depart for Australia on January 31 and will play three warm-up matches against the West Indies on 7, 9, and 11 February.

Pakistan Squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020:

Bismah Maroof (captain), Aimen Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Iram Javed, Javeria Khan, Muneeba Ali, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Nawaz (wicketkeeper), Syeda Aroob Shah


Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker