ICC T20 World Cup 2020

ICC T20 World Cup Winners & Runner-Ups List

T20 cricket was introduced at the international level for the first time in 2005. Australia and New Zealand were the first two sides to play a T20 International. South Africa hosted the first edition of ICC T20 World Cup in 2007. Here is the list of ICC T20 World Cup winners & runner-ups from 2007-2016.

T20 cricket, with itself, brought a new era in cricket. It has given a lot of variety and tempted the players to learn unorthodox skills to survive at the International level.

Batsmen have introduced a whole range of new shots, and bowlers have invented new ways of getting wickets and deceiving batsmen.

T20 World Cup Winners List

Coming back to ICC T20I World Cup Winners & Runner-Ups List From 2007-2016.

2007South AfricaIndiaWon by 5 runsPakistan
2009EnglandPakistanWon by 8 wicketsSri Lanka
2010West IndiesEnglandWon by 7 wicketsAustralia
2012Sri LankaWest IndiesWon by 36 runsSri Lanka
2014BangladeshSri LankaWon by 6 wicketsIndia
2016IndiaWest IndiesWon by 4 wicketsEngland

Australia To Host T20 World Cup 2020

Australia is set to host the seventh edition of the ICC T20 World Cup in 2020. A total of 16 teams will participate in the initial round of the mega event. The main event will start when the Super 12’s round gets going.

ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Schedule, Fixtures, Groups, Time Table & Tickets

Pakistan is currently dominating the T20I cricket. They are ranked No.1 in MRF Tyres ICC T20I Rankings from the last two years. Babar Azam (Pakistan) has retained the No.1 position in ICC T20I batting rankings. In bowling, Pakistan Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, and Faheem Ashraf are ranked at 2nd, 3rd, and 9th positions, respectively.

The next edition promises to be the most exciting one. The environment in Australia’s cricket grounds is always exceptional. The electrifying atmosphere brings the best of the players out there.

Pakistan’s Full Schedule For ICC T20 World Cup 2020

Pakistan, England, West Indies, and the host Australia are the strongest contenders for winning ICC T20 World Cup 2020. Virat Kohli-led India is another top-class side to watch out for. South Africa, after the exit of the giant AB De Villiers, they have not been at their best, but they will be a force to reckon in the event.


Related Articles

Back to top button