BlogBreaking News

Babar Azam Aims To Seek Inspiration From Kohli And Williamson On Australia Tour

Pakistan’s Newly-appointed T20I skipper is optimistic about performing well. Babar Azam said that he would seek inspiration from modern-day greats Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson on Australia tour.

Babar Azam, who recently replaced Sarfraz Ahmed as Pakistan T20I captain, was confident that Pakistan team would perform well under his leadership on Australia tour.

Also Read: Ignoring Kamran Akmal For Australia Tour Is A ‘Blunder’: Rashid Latif

The current No.1 T20I batsman could only manage to score 43 runs in 3-match home series. When a journalist said that his performance had gone down in the recent series, the premier batsman replied,” After only three matches you’ve decided my performance has suddenly gone down. It’s a game, and performances go up and down. I always give 120% and play as per team requirements. I’ll continue to play like I’ve been doing, and will look to do well in Australia. Moreover, I do not just think I’ll be happy to play regardless of the results. I’m looking to get some performances out of this young team, as well as my performances.

I Will Try To Emulate Virat Kohli And Kane Williamson On Australia Tour: Babar Azam

When asked would Babar Azam carry extra pressure of captaincy, Babar said,” I look at current captains like Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson, the way they manage their form along with bringing results to the team. I’ll try to emulate these two.”

As quoted by, Babar Azam retrieved his struggle beside departing on all-important Australia tour. Babar said,” When I was coming to the ground today in Faisalabad, I remembered something. Twelve years ago, I came here as a ball-boy against South Africa, and here I am 12 years later, sitting in front of you as captain. I am very thankful to Allah. Cricket has made me cry a lot of times. My coach used to say that cricket makes you laugh less and makes you cry more. I’ve seen a lot happen in the last 12 years and learnt a lot. But I’ve never given up, I always believed in my hard work.”

T20Is Squad: Babar Azam (captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Khusdil Shah, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Musa Khan, Wahab Riaz, Shadab Khan, Usman Qadir.


Related Articles

Back to top button