Breaking News

Babar Azam named in the ICC ODI team of the year

Pakistan’s limited-overs captain Babar Azam was named in the ICC ODI team of the year. However, he was not included in the ICC Test Team of the year despite a stellar year.

Babar Azam scored 616 runs in six Test matches at an average of 68.44 in 2019, in challenging Australian and South African conditions. His exclusion from the ICC Test team of the year left some of his fans disappointed.

Babar Azam thanked the International Cricket Council (ICC) for his inclusion in the ICC ODI team of the year in a video released by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

Babar Azam said,

“I am thankful to ICC & its jury for recognizing my achievements with the bat in 2019 & considering me worthy of a place in the side that includes some of my favorite cricketers who entertained the fans throughout the year with their outstanding performances.”

The Pakistan skipper added, “However, I will reserve my biggest gratitude to my team-mates and fans as without their support this would not have been possible. We played and performed as one team, with the fans always behind us despite our up and down performances.”

ALSO READ: Fakhar Zaman optimistic to win the Pakistan Super League title for Lahore Qalandars

Four players from India and five from Australia made into the ICC ODI team of the year along with Babar Azam and Ben Stokes. India’s Rohit Sharma was named the ODI cricketer of the year.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli bagged the ICC spirit of cricket award for stopping the fans booing Australia’s Steve Smith in the India-Australia world cup clash.

In his statement, Virat Kohli said, “I’m surprised that I have got it, after many years of being under the scanner for the wrong things.”

“That moment was purely understanding an individual’s situation. I don’t think a guy who is coming out of a situation like that needs to be taken advantage of.”

Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope, Virat Kohli (captain), Babar Azam, Kane Williamson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav.<


Related Articles

Back to top button