Breaking News

3rd ODI: Openers, Haris Steer Pakistan Home To Clinch The Series Against Sri Lanka

Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by five wickets in the 3rd ODI to clinch the series 2-0. The hosts chased down the target with ten balls to spare.

In the third and final ODI, Sri Lankan captain won the toss and decided to bat 1st. Danushka Gunathilaka was the stand out performer for visitors as he completed the 2nd century of his ODI career. We went on to score 133 runs off 134 balls with 16 fours and one six.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Schedule, Fixtures, Groups, Time Table & Tickets

Captain Lahiru Thirimanne and the debutante Minod Bhanuka scored 36 runs each while Dasun Shanaka provided some firepower to the end of the innings with 24 balls 43. For Pakistan, Mohammad Amir was the pick of bowlers. The left-handed pacer picked up three wickets for 50 runs in 10 overs. Sri Lanka finished on a healthy 297/9 in 50 overs.

Pakistan, in the chase, never looked uncomfortable. Openers, Abid Ali and Fakhar Zaman, scored 74 and 76 respectively. They put on a 123-run partnership for the first wicket; the highest opening partnership for Pakistan in 2019. Abid Ali who replaced injured Imam Ul Haq was lovely to watch with the bat in hand. The stylish right-handed batsman smashed ten fours in his match-winning knock. Babar Azam (31) and Sarfraz Ahmed (23) got the start but couldn’t convert into big ones. Haris Sohail once again came to rescue Pakistan in a crunch situation. He scored a handy 54 runs. Iftikhar Ahmed took Pakistan over the line with 22 balls 28*.

For Sri Lanka, Nuwan Pradeep was brilliant with the ball as he got it to reverse both ways. He picked up two crucial wickets of Fakhar Zaman and Babar Azam. Young Lahiru Kumara was impressive with the ball, but couldn’t prevent the strong Pakistan side to clinch the series 2-0. Fakhar Zaman from Pakistan and Danushka Gunathilaka from Sri Lanka were the stand out performers for the respective teams in the 3rd ODI.

Abid Ali was declared man of the match for his elegant 74 off 67 balls while Babar Azam, the centurion from the 2nd ODI, won the man of the series award.

After the completion of the ODI series, the team will now head to Lahore for the T20I Series where the will play 3-match T20I Series. The matches will be played at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore on October 5, 7 and 9 respectively.


Related Articles

Back to top button